Posted on

Foot Health

Today, we learn about the muscles of the foot. We have divided the foot into 5 zones. To achieve health of the foot, the muscles of each zone should be palpated to test for spasm. Then, each foot muscle in spasm should be released. Use the illustrations below to see where each zone is, and then palpate the muscles to begin the process of releasing them. Of course, the muscles in each zone are the cause of pain, in each zone. To restore health to the foot, complete this process for a class partner, and have them do the same for you. This class does not delve into the reflex points found in the foot, how they connect to the body through nadis, etc, this class is focused on the anatomy of the foot, so students can have a deep understanding of both aspects of the foot: reflexology and basic anatomy.

foot pain zones

















Zone 1:

  1. Extensor Digitorum Longus (t.)
  2. Extensor Digitorum Brevis
  3. Extensor Hallucis Longus (t.)
  4. Extensor Hallucis Brevis

Zone 2:

  1. Abductor Digiti Minimi

Zone 3:

  1. Abductor Hallucis Longus/Brevis

Zone 4:

  1. Quadratus Plantae
  2. 3 tendons (FDL, FHL, TP)


Zone 5:

  1. Adductor Hallucis
  2. Lumbricals

Plantar Interossei

Dorsal Interossei